Review: Potatopia

The other week when Scott and I saw The Tale of Princess Kaguya we had trouble deciding where to get dinner, then I got lucky and remembered Potatopia. I had heard about this intriguing place on the news some years ago. I remembered it being a build your own potato place that was relatively inexpensive for the area. And I remembered that I really wanted to try it.

Here’s how they work. First you pick your style of potato, they have options like baked, curly fries, au gratin, and more that I’m not fully sure of. Then you get to add unlimited veggies, two types of cheese and two sauces (or maybe more, I forget) to your potato. If you want some kind of meat (bacon, shrimp, vegan chili, etc), you pay extra depending on what kind you get. They also have prefixed menu items but I don’t see how that’s fun when you can build your own perfect potato.

Pictured below are the potatoes Scott and I got.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

baked potato with butter, shrimp, garlic, onion, scallion, broccoli, mozzarella and pepper jack cheese with chipotle sauce.

I tried some of his. It was pretty damn good. Here’s mine.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

baked potato with bacon, extra broccoli, scallion, red onion, garlic, corn, pepper jack and cheddar cheese with sour cream.

Mine was also really good. I forget exactly how much we spent, it was around $8+ a person, so it wasn’t cheap, but not too bad for the area. If I really felt like being cheap I wouldn’t have ordered the bacon and just loaded lots of extra veggies onto my potato, and potatoes are pretty filling to begin with, so it’s not like you’re going to leave hungry.. unless you were extremely hungry to begin with. You’re probably better off with Chipotle if that’s the case. And now for…

Reasons Why You Shouldn’t Like This

  • It’s in the land of hipsters
  • There’s not much room to sit
  • I have no idea what half of the potato styles are, and they offer no information on them on their website. I like to plan meals in my mind in advance and crave them for days before I get them. That simply isn’t possible here. Having the people who work there explain it to me when I’m under pressure to order because there’s a line doesn’t let me create ideal delicious combinations in my mind. It makes me default to baked potato because I know what that is.

All of those things aside I still want to go back. I just really wish it was easier for me to visualize their damn potato options without having to ask an employee right before ordering.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Scott Pool said,

    Good point about the potato options. Also I found out that the one that’s supposed to be opening in the Newport mall in JC, has been there for like a year and a half ;__;


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

