Top 5 Romances For People Who Don’t Like Romances

So I was thinking the other day about a lack of good romances out there. I’ve never been one to like romances, Nicholas Sparks movies put me to sleep, but when I do find a romance that I like, I really love it. So here we go!

5. The Phantom of the Opera (book, movie and play)

Now this isn’t a true romance, since Erik (the phantom) is somewhat of a psycho control freak (this shows way more in the books). Christine had something going on with that loser Raoul, but that’s unimportant. What makes the movie and play great is the songs, they’re very passionate and really make you feel, I only wish that they stuck more with the book’s story. The book makes you feel more for Erik, going into more detail about his past and about how no one ever loved him. This also isn’t totally about romance, there’s a revenge factor going on too.

4. Ghost (movie)

This movie is amazing in general, every time it comes on TV, I end up watching it. It’s more of a supernatural suspense than a romance, but it is a love story and extends love even after death, not just romantic love, but love in general.

3. Spice and Wolf (light novels, anime, manga)

I really love this story. The anime got me back into anime. It’s truly unique as far as animes go. Set in I couldn’t place it higher on the list because I haven’t finished reading all of the books yet. The anime ends at the fifth book (of seventeen) and the manga has barely caught up with the anime. Another reason it’s not higher up is because I’ve seen in the books that living for the present is a stronger theme than love. That could change down the line though.

2. Brokeback Mountain (movie)

I know the movie’s based on a short story, I haven’t read it but I’d like to eventually. This is number two for many of the reasons number one is number one. Nature wants them to be together but society doesn’t, and who can go wrong with Heath Ledger?? This movie did not win enough awards.

1. Wuthering Heights  (book)

This is the best book I was ever forced to read in school. I didn’t want to at first, I thought it would be a stupid romance, but it wasn’t. It was about passionate anger, revenge and love. It was about society driving people against nature, and what true love really was. It was all of these things on top of being beautifully written. It was full of so much pain and frustration, and you feel all of it. But that made the ending even more amazing. Nothing will ever be as good as this.

Just a side note, many movies have been made, but I couldn’t bare any of them. Heathcliff is always a white boy, when the book clearly says he’s dark. I think there was a recent rendition with a dark Heathcliff, but I don’t think it made it past the film festivals it was shone in.

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Scott said,

    This is a good list :]

  2. 2

    This is a fantastic list. I’m not one for romances either (my roomies like Nick Sparks alot), but I can’t help but like many of the items you listed. First of all, I love the Phantom of the Opera. The music is so beautiful, it sends chills down my spines.

    • 3

      improperintegirl said,

      The book is amazing too, despite the lack of music. I remember I was reading it like crazy before my regents junior or sophomore year… my mom stole it from me saying I couldn’t have it back until after my test. I got back in the afternoon from my exam and frantically searched for, and found it XD It was one of those really addictive books you couldn’t put down.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

