Proof Of Me Being A Loser: 30 Days of Zelda – Day 5

So I’ve seen this 30 Days of Zelda Challenge floating around tumblr, and I’m giving it a go. Currently Days 1-4 are on my tumblr. I decided to do Day 5 here instead because I’m going to end up writing more than I feel should be written on tumblr. That’s right Day 5 qualifies for its own damn blog entry. Now let’s get to what Day 5’s challenge is.

Day 5 – A love interest you’ve had with any of the characters

It’s time for me to make some sad confessions and tell the story of how Link became my waifu. Yes I mean waifu, I do not mean husbando. I don’t see why I shouldn’t be allowed to have a waifu if Scott and John have them. But anyway, let me tell you about how much of a loser I am.

I believe I was in fourth grade at the time when I first laid eyes on a picture of adult Link in the instruction manual for Ocarina of Time. It was in that moment that he became my waifu. It was also the first in a long string of weaknesses for blondes.  I thought he was really pretty and spent a lot of time tracing the pictures of him that were in that book. I played Ocarina of Time until I got stuck and then ended up not touching it for years. It wasn’t until I was a freshmen or sophomore in high school that I picked up the game again and managed to finish it. I purposely made Link wear the red tunic as much as possible, because red is obviously his color.

Now that my family had the internet, I was able to fuel my Zelda craze further by going online. That was when I found out about Twilight Princess. Not only did the world look beautiful, but so did my waifu. It took them too damn long to release that game after announcing it, but the anticipation that lasted well over a year was thrilling. I remember buying a gaming magazine just because this picture (and others) were in it.

I spent waaay too much time staring at this

When the game was finally set to release, I remember being thrilled that they announced Link’s age as being 16 or 17. Why? Because I was 17 at the time. I even remember reading interviews with the creators in which they stated that in this game they wanted to make Link really cool. They even referred to him as “cool Link” in later interviews. They certainly accomplished that task. He was damn sexy in those leggings, riding Epona and using a number of his new weapons.

I was disappointed that his hat obeyed the laws of gravity when Link was standing upside down with the magnetic iron boots, but that his tunic did not. I was thrilled I got to see him with his shirt off.  I loved manipulating the camera angle so I could look up his tunic when he was attached to the flying plants with the claw shots. Plus he did that sexy flippy thing with his sword.  Skyward Sword Link does this also, but it’s just not the same. The animation is there, but the bad ass attitude isn’t.

I won’t refute that there was obviously something going on between him and Midna in the game and will admit that the game’s ending had me bawling. I wanted them to be together because they belong together, but that doesn’t stop Link from being my waifu. Other people chose to ship him with his bitchy childhood friend from his village, now that I couldn’t stand. If you ship Link and Ilia you are both delusional and wrong.

I mean I know part of it is my strange immediate attraction to blondes, but this Link was special. I guess the fact that we were both 17 at the same time had an impact on me, I guess feel as though he’ll age with me even though he’s eternally 17. What’s really happening is the game is aging with me, it’s the Zelda of my time, of my late teen years.

Now to take this post in a different direction. For the record: Skyward Sword Link is not my waifu. He has super fugly pants. I also think he’s meant to be with Zelda in that game… but I feel that Zelda’s meant to be with Groose because Groose is awesome. I mean yea, Groose was initially a douche bag, but how could anyone not love Groose after how awesome he became… plus he works out!!  Skyward Sword Link is a good boy who tries to act bad on occasion, Twilight Princess Link is a bad boy with a good heart while being capable of tolerating a woman’s abuse *cough* Midna *cough* My prefernce had been made clear.

And now you can all laugh at me and call me a loser. At least I’m not a forever alone with a body pillow.

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Scott Pool said,

    Aww that’s cute, I think everyone’s had a crush on a fictional character before it’s nothing to be ashamed about. Can’t wait to do my Day 5..

    • 2

      improperintegirl said,

      you never even started the zelda challenge!!! and sorry, vidya crushes isn’t on the 30 days of vidya challenge..

  2. 3

    This is wonderful! I have multiple video game crushes, I don’t even know where to begin. (I’m not as faithful as you).

  3. 5

    […] Twilight Princess Link – I wrote a blog on this one here […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

