I Love This Bread

This is probably going to be one of my lamest posts ever, but I had to write it. I love this bread, I love this bread so much.

As I mentioned a few posts ago, I’ve stopped eating anything with yeast in it. I hadn’t had bread for weeks and was really craving some. I bought this *true* sourdough bread at my local health food store a few days ago. It’s Berlin Natural Bakery‘s sourdough spelt bread. I love it so much. My mom says its probably because I haven’t had bread in ages but this bread has such an awesome flavor. It has a nice distinct sourdough taste, but it’s not too strong. Adding to the awesomeness of this bread is the fact that it only has three ingredients: Whole Grain Spelt flour, water, and sea salt. It’s not the cheapest bread, costing about $6 a loaf, but it’s totally non-GMO and 100% awesome.

I also owe a lot to this bread. Today while in the drug store I had to walk past the snack aisle and of course I wanted a lot of that crap. But I refuse to cave. I told myself to be good, and that I’d reward myself with that awesome bread when I got home. The peanut butter and honey sandwich I had when I got home was so awesome.  I am so happy I have a bread fix now.

I was disappointed with the other breads Berlin Natural Bakery listed on their website, since this appears to be their only bread without yeast. My biggest disappointment is that they have yeast as an ingredient in their “biblical” bread. In Bible times there was no yeast -_-

I also bought another type of yeast-free bread.It appears to be made for someone who’s allergic to just about everything in addition to having celiac’s.

This bread also tastes awesome, and costs around $7 and has a similar sourdough taste to the other bread I mentioned, however they’re both different in their own way. This bread is less awesome because it has a lot more ingredients, but it’s still better than the typical bread you’d buy in a store. This bread is made by Food for Life. I’ve already mentioned my disappointment with them having yeast in most of their other products.. especially the bread that they decided to name after Ezekiel. There was no yeast in Ezekiel’s time.

Sorry for hating on yeast, but it is my personal belief that we are totally not evolved to consume it, as well as most of the crap in the western/first world country diet. I further believe that we’re not going to adapt to these news food items since the health problems they cause tend to kill people after they reproduce. In the case of obesity, it doesn’t seem to stop people from mating and producing children in the first place. Though it does make them less desirable as mates I suppose.

I seriously need to get sourdough starter and make my own bread…

In other news, I have *way* more energy after being on this no yeast, no sugar diet for a few weeks. It’s awesomely insane.That is all.

7 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Scott Pool said,

    I want to try one of those breads now they sound pretty good.

    And I’m happy you have a lot more energy and this makes you feel better!

    • 2

      improperintegirl said,

      You need to go to a health food store to find them. Or Fairway or Whole Foods 😄
      I mean I would let you try mine but I’ve gotten my appetite back and need all of the food I can get!!

  2. 3

    It’s good to blog about things you love 🙂 I’m glad you are digging sour dough and new types of breads. I’m sure they have a lot of good flavor and better then the fructose cornsyrup injected loaves I eat. Congrats on feeling more awesome; its a great way to start the new year!

    • 4

      improperintegirl said,

      They are way better than the standard bread you’d buy in a store. The one big downside is that they’re sold frozen and once you thaw them they’re only good for a few days if you don’t refrigerate them due to them not adding any preservatives.

  3. 5

    Oney Friddell said,

    I just happened upon your blog because I was trying to research the Food For Life bread. I’m skeptical because on the company website they list the bread as “no yeast added”, but they say “gluten-free”. I also have to stay away from yeast and I’m not sure if I can trust this bread. Have you had it?
    I know of a different bread from http://www.samisbakery.com in FL. Their millet and flax breads and bagels are wonderful (I have had other people try it and they cannot taste any difference from regular bread.) The only thing is, unless you live in FL, you have to mail order their stuff online. They have quick shipping, but you have to be ready to bulk order and have room in your freezer!
    You may want to give it a try, it’s been a lifesaver for me! (To actually have a sandwich again!)
    Best of luck with your health!

    • 6

      improperintegirl said,

      Thanks for the info, from what the guy in my local health food store has told me in the past, I know it can only say “yeast free” if it was made in a facility where they have done tests and yeast wasn’t more than however many parts per million. If it doesn’t say anything about yeast, there could be yeast particles floating around in the air where it was processed, and shouldn’t be a problem unless you’re deathly allergic. I’m not sure what “no yeast added” signifies. I’d try e-mailing the company in that situation.

      Something else my mom started doing a few moths ago was making our own sourdough bread. She bought a starter from King Arthur Flour online. I’m not sure if that would be an option for you, but if it is it takes a while to get the hang of it. The longer you let the dough rise, the more sour the bread will be. If you time it right it’ll taste exactly like normal bread, plus you can use whatever type of flour you like.

      Good luck finding out about the Food For Life bread.

      • 7

        Oney Friddell said,

        Thanks so much!
        I will definitely have to try making my own sourdough. Sounds like fun.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

