A year ago today my family’s parrot, Kirby, suddenly passed away after being with my family for 25 years. Since Kirby was there from the day I was born, I’ve been left with a huge void in my life. One of my earliest memories is Kirby landing on my head when I was 2 or 3. I wanted to rescue another bird from a rescue organization I found online but my parents said no and continue to say no. All I have right now is the wild quaker parrots that like to hang out in my neighborhood.I cant look at other conures in real life without getting sad.

Anyway, Kirby was a white-eyed conure. My mom says she thinks Kirby was taken from the wild, and a few years older than 25 when he died. The average life expectancy for a white-eyed conure is 25-27 years. They can be taught to talk but Kirby never did. Kirby just had various bird noises, all of which I remember. If you call my house and get the answering machine you can still hear Kirby in the background.

It really was sudden when Kirby passed away. Literally the day before, Kirby was chilling with us during breakfast and dinner, mooching as usual. It’s ok to feed parrots certain people foods, and they love being shared with. It’s important to spend time every day with any parrot because they’re very social animals.

That’s pretty much all I have to say. I’ve already gotten myself sad by writing this. I just hope I get to meet Kirby again in the next life if not on the other side.

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    I’m sure you will be reunited with Kirby once more 😦 ❤ !!! I'm so sorry to hear about your loss again. I can't believe it's already be a year. I hope one day you will be able to adopt a parrot. Even though they would never be able to replace Kirby, I hope your new pet will help fill/ease the void 😦 ❤

    • 2

      improperintegirl said,

      Thanks. I don’t see a parrot adoption happening in the near future… right now I’m hoping the neighborhood wild parrots will migrate to my block, or start chilling out on my block. I would seriously start feeding them and doing everything I could to try and get them to be my friends.

  2. 3

    Desiree Lomak said,

    We just lost our Pickle(white eyed conure) after 30 years being part of our family. You can imagine how sad we are but try to remember all the wonderful,happy and amazing times he gave us. He was the sweetest bird we ever had and. He will be missed immensely.

    • 4

      the product of primes said,

      Sorry for your loss 😦
      Interestingly enough, our Kirby was almost named Pickle, but at my mother’s insistence they went with Kirby for kirby pickles.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

