Nail Polish That Matches My Nintendo 3DS!

Lately I was on sort of an interesting quest, to find a shade of nail polish that matches my Aqua Blue 3DS.

The first one that I came across was New York Color: Color in a New York Minute: East Village.

It was only $2 and I had a coupon for $1 off so I decided to give it a try. It has a nice smooth application but takes 2-3 coats to get it not looking see through and it chips after a day or two.  They lied about it being quick dry, it took longer than I expected which made me more prone to smudge my nails after putting the third or second coat on. It’s also a bit more blue than my 3DS although it is a pretty good match.

Yesterday I bought Wet N Wild: Wild Shine: Caribbean Frost for $1. I was a bit skeptical about trying another cheap brand, but I know that they’ve been around longer than New York Color.

So far I like this one way better than the last one, since it only took one coat to get that color and since its a near perfect match to my 3DS! Even though it isn’t a part of their quick dry line I found that it dried pretty fast, faster than the New York Color quick dry actually. The texture of the nail polish is a bit gritty at times so you need to shake the bottle a lot, and applying it with my non-dominant hand to my dominant one way more difficult than normal because of this. Hopefully it’ll at least last a few days before it chips, but I do use my hands a lot at work so that’ll probably cause it to chip sooner.

Another good thing about Wet N Wild is that PETA says they don’t test on animals, and PETA is insane. I don’t like PETA but they are good for when it comes to finding companies that don’t test on animals and spreading awareness about *certain* issues when they aren’t exploiting women at the same time.

Any other girls, metrosexuals or girly gay guys with 3Ds’s in Aqua Blue that want matching nail polish, definitely go for Wet N Wild’s Caribbean Frost!

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    That’s such a cute shade of blue! AHA! Now you can be matchy with your 3DS some days 🙂 I have 2 of the NYC quickdry nail polishes (one of which is also East Village!!!), and I agree they chip quickly. I always near a clear coating on top of 4 coats of the NYC haha. I like that their formula is not overly viscous though 🙂

    • 2

      improperintegirl said,

      I think NYC chipping has to do with the fact that it requires around 3 coats… since in real life the more layers of paint you have on a wall, the easier it is for it to start chipping. It’s so sad since I love the east village color!!!

  2. 3

    What a pretty color! It matches your 3DS perfectly. 😛 I used to love Wet n Wild nailpolish, but it also chipped pretty badly on me. :X I have a really bad nail biting problem, and the only way to stop myself is by painting my nails. Unfortunately, I gave in to temptation the other day and now they’re gone. >.<; So I guess I won't be painting them for a while. XD

    • 4

      improperintegirl said,

      I’ve already had it on for a day and a half and it’s chipped a little bit, but then again I was working a register for about 8 hours yesterday. However it didn’t chip as badly as the NYC ones did for me… with NYC I’ve had big chunks come off rather than just a little at the top.

      I also had the same problem with nail biting when I was little. Then when I got m nails painted my mom and aunt told me I couldn’t bite my nails because the nail polish was poison, and that way I was able to stop XD


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

