E3 2011 and Zelda

Well E3 has come and gone, I didn’t watch as much of it this year as I have in previous years, but I managed to catch a good chunk of Nintendo’s press conference, which is really all I care about anyway.

Possibly the thing that got me most excited was news about the newest Zelda game, Skyward Sword! They released a new trailer!!

I must say that I am still very skeptical of how it will turn out since they’re saying its way different, not to mention I’m not crazy about adult Link looking all cartoony (in addition to his fugly pants, but I’ll save those pants for another post) or Zelda having bangs. But I completely trust the Zelda team to come up with an awesome story that will totally blow me away.

Also, the new bad guy is totally David Bowie.

Ok calling him David Bowie may be a bit of a stretch, but it was the first thing I thought of when I saw him.  Can you really blame me? All this blue guy is lacking is a mullet!

I really wish I could have this game now so I could spend the summer on it, but it looks like I’ll have to wait until “Holiday 2011” assuming they stay true to their word. I can’t even remember how many times Twilight Princess’ release got pushed back, all I remember is waiting for it for two years after first hearing about it.

The other thing that got me really excited, is the new baby they announced. The Wii and DS got together and made a baby, the Wii U.

This will solve one problem that has been around since home gaming systems were available: when you have a family member that wants to watch TV while you are playing a game. Basically the Wii U acts as a controller, but if someone wants to watch TV, they can, and you can continue playing the game on the controller. As far as I’m concerned, it’s possibly one of the best gaming innovations ever.It does other things, but I lack the tech vocabulary/conversational skills necessary to explain them,

That aside, I think Nintendo took advantage of the Wii U being so awesome and used it to troll every Zelda fan ever with this. (here’s a link to the fullsize version)

At first I thought it was a new Zelda, but everyone is saying its just an HD Twilight Princess demo. It makes sense, but also makes me a bit sad. I mean it looked so incredibly beautiful, it reminded me of how I felt when I saw the first Twilight Princess videos and images back in high school. Then it made me realize that Twilight Princess will always be the Zelda of my adolescent/high school generation, similar in a way to how Ocarina of Time will always be the Zelda of my elementary school generation. I think you get different experiences from games and other things based on how old you are. It’s different talking to people even four years older than me who are/were into Pokemon, just because it didn’t even exist until they were in middle school, whereas I was in elementary.

In the mean time, I’m looking forward to Ocarina of Time 3DS. Hopefully it’ll hold me over for a while as I anticipate the release of Skyward Sword.

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Scott Pool said,

    Yess Skyward Sword looks much better than it did originally, and the Wii-U while had me dissapointed at first thinking the console was just a controller add-on, got me excited when I realized that it IS a new console and they just didn’t make it clear during the conference.

    I really like that transferring any wii or wii-u game to the controller, AND the ability to send pictures or videos from the controller to the wii-u at any time. Plus it acts as a drawing tablet which is neat, and you can make VIDEO CALLS with it? There are people calling it just an iPad, but they’re retarded. It’s not an iPad, if I wanted to play cheap flash games in between browsing the internet or reading a newspaper, I would buy an iPad.

    If I wanted the next gaming console from Nintendo that does more than just being a flat laptop, I’m buying the Wii-U.

    P.S. Developers have said it is definitely “beefier” than a PS3 in terms of raw power, though that’s not too surprising as the PS3 is 5 years old now, but still neat. I think Nintendo was just being modest by not saying what its specs are, as they never were ones to gloat about graphics. But the fact that they have the potential to do that much is cool.

    • 2

      improperintegirl said,

      also wii U has the use of a stylus, a stylus wont wont on the ipad, you can only draw with your finger which sucks.

  2. 3

    Aww man I kept trying to peak at E3 during my lunch breaks at work, but nothing I’m uberly excited for yet. Most likely because I have yet to purchase my choice of 3rd gen. home console (one day PS3 you will be mine). The Wii-U sounds interesting, but a little complicated. Go Nintendo for being so competitive 😀

    • 4

      improperintegirl said,

      The wii u actually isn’t so complicated, I’m just not good at describing things technology does. And are you *sure* you want to go for the PS3? It’s quite prone to hacking XD

  3. 5

    […] Bowie Demon Lord Ghirahim: As I mentioned in this previous post the (sort of) main bad guy totally looks like David Bowie/Ziggy Stardust. He may do creepy stuff […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

