The “math” Behind the Rapture (2011)

You may have noticed that this is listed under my category for “math” posts but this is not a math post. This is a post about a piece of pure bullshit.For those of you that don’t know, here’s how the “math” goes:

By Camping’s understanding, the Bible was dictated by God and every word and number carries a spiritual significance. He noticed that particular numbers appeared in the Bible at the same time particular themes are discussed.

The number 5, Camping concluded, equals “atonement.” Ten is “completeness.” Seventeen means “heaven.” Camping patiently explained how he reached his conclusion for May 21, 2011.

“Christ hung on the cross April 1, 33 A.D.,” he began. “Now go to April 1 of 2011 A.D., and that’s 1,978 years.”

Camping then multiplied 1,978 by 365.2422 days – the number of days in each solar year, not to be confused with a calendar year.

Next, Camping noted that April 1 to May 21 encompasses 51 days. Add 51 to the sum of previous multiplication total, and it equals 722,500.

Camping realized that (5 x 10 x 17) x (5 x 10 x 17) = 722,500.

Or put into words: (Atonement x Completeness x Heaven), squared.

“Five times 10 times 17 is telling you a story,” Camping said. “It’s the story from the time Christ made payment for your sins until you’re completely saved.

“I tell ya, I just about fell off my chair when I realized that,” Camping said.

Putting his interpretation of the Bible aside (believe me I could say a million things about how wrong it is), he did no math. It makes me even more surprised to learn that this man was a civil engineer. If you haven’t studied a lot of math you may be wondering why I claim that this is not math, but in fact, bullshit. What  this man is doing is pulling numbers out of the Bible and assigning meaning to them that they otherwise do not have, he is then performing random mathematical operations on those numbers and claiming the result has meaning because he got the same result two different ways.

His random numbers weren’t even good ones, they’re all deficient. I mean, if I were to construct such bullshit I would have used perfect or abundant numbers. How the hell a deficient number can represent “completeness” is beyond me. The reason the ancient Greek’s first called 6 a perfect number was because they thought the world was created in 6 days and thought it was cool that the the sum of 6’s proper divisors was twice 6. But even that doesn’t make 6 perfect in the non-mathematical sense, it’s just a name given to a mathematical property. There are also amicable, social and taxi cab numbers. Numbers can have all sorts of cool properties, but that doesn’t give them any real meaning. The number 3 and multiples of 3 appear all over various pagan myths. All that means is that the ancients happened to like the number 3 for some reason.

God created math and the universe. Any meaning numbers have was created by us.

Lastly, what confuses me the most, is that, if this guy was really scrutinizing the Bible, how did he miss that what is doing automatically makes him a false prophet? Jesus said only God knows when the world will end.

The world isn’t going to end in 2012 either, the alien overlords that sped up our evolution are going to come back and call us damn fools for forgetting all of the science they taught us. Or we’ll just go back to the beginning of the Mayan calender in the same manner that we get a new calender after every December 31st XD

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Scott Pool said,

    lol it sure is going to be boring having no more end of the world dates after 2012…

  2. 2

    AHAHAHA. I got a good kick out of this. I didn’t even know bout the Rapture until I started seeing signs plastered on the bus I ride to work. Seriously, if the end of the world is going to come, people should stop fearing/being fanatics about it. It’s annoying.

    • 3

      improperintegirl said,

      I first heard it from crazies on the train during spring break. And they should all remember that passage about God being the only one who knows when the world will end. I also don’t know where the whole rapture thing comes from since what they say Jesus’ actions will be totally contradict his nature. But what’s really weird, is that this post got 100+ hits yesterday from people’s google searches. Normally I’m lucky if I get 20 hits in one day XD

  3. 4

    Ashlie said,

    its not crap. numbers in the bible have significance especially the ones that are repented. like the 7 seals, 7 days, 7 trumpets, 7 years, 3 days, trinity=3, ect. HOWEVER God said that Jesus would return in 3 days. well 1,000 years to us is a day to God It says so in the bible.”But, beloved, do not forget this one thing, that with the Lord one day is as a thousand years, and a thousand years as one day.” 2 Peter 3:8
    Also just because someone says the rapture is going to happen on such and such days doesn’t mean that it will. for in the bible it says.
    “Assuredly, I say to you, this generation will by no means pass away till all these things take place. Heaven and earth will pass away, but My words will by no means pass away.But of that day and hour no one knows, not even the angels of heaven, but My Father only. But as the days of Noah were, so also will the coming of the Son of Man be. For as in the days before the flood, they were eating and drinking, marrying and giving in marriage, until the day that Noah entered the ark, 39 and did not know until the flood came and took them all away, so also will the coming of the Son of Man be.” Matthew 24: 36-39

    If people try to tear apart the bible go ahead but this world is LOSING its power to hide God and his words. Jesus Christ is returning soon!! The signs are all around us. Repent now while you still have time!

    • 5

      improperintegirl said,

      I don’t accept the Bible as a literal translation, or as the exact word as God. I believe that it was inspired by God. But I don’t believe Christianity is 100% correct, I think every religion has parts of the one true religion. Being a decent moral person is more important than being a Christian. I’d rather see people follow the teachings of Jesus than believe that he’s God.

      In all honesty, when the rapture happens, I’d rather stay here and watch the world burn. If my pets and non-Christian friends can’t get into heaven, it’s not the place for me. I’d rather be with them. Well I don’t think I could get in anyway since I accept Jesus as one of Vishnu’s incarnations. But I still think the rapture is crap and no one can convince me otherwise. I appreciate your effort for trying to “save” me though.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

