Pineapple-Coconut Cupcakes!

I’m a part of my school’s Animal Rights (we’re actually more Animal Welfare.. but that is besides the point), and this week we had a bake sale to raise money to help out animals in the nuclear zone in Japan. A lot of people had to leave their pets behind when they were evacuated and are very distressed because of it. We’re planning on donating the money to J.E.A.R.S , they’re an organization made up of three no-kill shelters that joined together after the earthquake/tsunami to help out the animals.

My contribution were vegan (because our bake-sales are vegan) pineapple coconut cupcakes. Here’s a link to the recipe if you’re interested http://www.partylikeavegan.com/2011/04/02/pina-colada-cupcakes/

Here they are before being decorated!

After being frosted with a sugar glaze and dipped in coconut!

.. then I put dried cranberries on them to make them look more delicious

These turned out great. I made two batches, one with the amount of sugar the recipe suggested, but I found that those weren’t sweet enough. They tasted more like pineapple bread than cupcakes. The next batch had twice the sugar and the cupcake effect was fully achieved! I frosted them with a sugar glaze in stead of the icing the recipe suggests for two reasons: (1) I hate frosting, (2) all of these vegan frostings use fake animal product of some kind, which means it’s more processed that I would like and probably has carrageenan in it, which I am allergic to.

Now a bit about “vegan” sugar. Some members of the group were telling me normal sugar isn’t vegan, because to refine the sugar is sifted through cow bones to make it white. I can kind of see the logic, but most of the websites I’ve looked for vegan recipes on don’t specify to use vegan sugar (but they do specify to use vegan butter, eggs, milk, cream, etc.) It has no bones in it, or else they couldn’t certify it as kosher. Technically my cupcakes were vegan because they contained no animal product, but they weren’t hardcore vegan because the sugar was refined using cowbones.

I don’t see how it’s directly fueling the cattle industry. I’d compare it to the use of rennet in cheese. Since a large number of people have stopped buying veal because of how cruel it is, now rennet is often mixed with an enzyme from pigs or stuff that comes from plants but achieves the same effect. The supply of veal went down so the cheese makers changed their ways. I think if there was a demand for less beef, the sugar companies might change start to their ways as well. I’d consider using vegan sugar next time if it doesn’t cost an absurd amount.

In the end I’m just happy I didn’t use any eggs, as they treat the chickens worse than they treat the cows.

And in other news, I have a part time job now, and a crap load of finals coming up. That is all.

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Scott Pool said,

    Oh wow I didn’t know that sugar gets sifted through cow bones >>. And the cupcakes were delicious!

  2. 2

    I, too, had no idea that normal sugar gets sifted through cow bones. o_o I’m constantly watching out for my blood sugar levels, though, so I’m usually a Splenda-freak. >.<; Your cupcakes look so good! I'm not a fan of frosting, either, usually because it's too whipped-cream tasting. :X I've never tried vegan cupcakes, either, so I'll definitely have to try out some recipes. 🙂

    • 3

      improperintegirl said,

      vegan cupcakes usually taste just like normal cupcakes. these were a bit different because of the crushed pineapple that was thrown into the batter ^^ in some cases, if a store bought mix doesn’t have milk (or beef fat, yes they put that in baked goods from time to time), all you need to do is add the soda of your choice to the mix. there’s lots of different ways of making them. but my mom loved these, and we’re definitely making more, should I have any on hand at any point this summer, if we hang out I’ll bring a few along 😀


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

