What Vegan Food Should Be

Something I’ve come to notice is that vegans tend to always stress that the food they eat is delicious. After telling you about a certain dish, they must always add that it tastes good. This may be normal as far as food goes, but I think that they do this to make themselves believe that the substitutes they eat taste better than the real thing.

Once I was exploring a health food store and stumbled upon vegan cheese, I shrugged and moved along. Then I saw a second vegan cheese, only this one said “it melts!” I realized that the other ones must not melt. It left me wondering how the hell that stuff was made and what crap was put in it to make it “melt.” Since PETA somehow managed to get my email, they send me things on occasion. This past St. Patrick’s day they sent me a recipe for vegan Irish soda bread, it contained fake egg and fake every other animal product. I can only assume it would taste no where near as good as the real version.

I think if you are processing non-animal products to the crazy extent that they resemble meat, butter or eggs, it defeats the purpose of being vegan. It’s completely stupid to give something up if you’re just going to replace it with a crappier version. The only thing it shows to me is a lack of creativity.I’m not vegan or vegetarian, but I’m making an effort to eat less meat. One way I’ve done it without the use of crappy substitutes is by realizing just how awesome hummus is.

I used to think hummus was just a dip, I was wrong. When combined with a tortilla, carrots, red onion and lettuce, it makes an awesome wrap. It wasn’t until after I had been eating them for a while did I realize that they had no animal product in them. This is what vegan food should be. It should be food that’s good without making you think about justifying it being fake because it isn’t fake. It’s food that you don’t need to feel bad about there being no meat or animal product in it because those things were never there to begin with.

These are pictures of a wrap and a half that my mom made. I ate the half not pictured :D. That aside, the green tortilla is spinach flavored and the orange one is tomato flavored. They make awesome lunches.

For those of you that don’t know, hummus is easy enough to make. Put simply, throw canned chickpeas, olive oil, garlic (chopped or in powder form) and lemon juice into a blender and blend it. You now have hummus! You can also add roasted red pepper, or hot peppers or just about any other vegetable you think will make it delicious!

11 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Omg, I love hummus! ❤ Never tried it in a wrap or sandwich, though, only on crackers. 😄 Sometimes, I disagree with people I meet who are overly gung-ho about veganism. I understand where the meat aspect is coming from, but egg and milk products are pretty much harmless to the animals (I think?). My ex-roommate's vegan ex-boyfriend admitted that he would rather buy the same product for twice the price at a place like Whole Foods than at Stop and Shop. This is where elitism comes in, which makes me hate half the population of vegans on my campus. They all have that "I'm-better-than-you-because-I-don't-eat-animal-products-or-processed-foods" attitude, when in reality their food is completely over-processed. -_-

    • 2

      improperintegirl said,

      Well milk and eggs do hurt the animals. They keep the chickens in cages so small that they can’t spread their wings open stacked 8 high to get eggs from them. They’re nicer to the cows (in general, bigger animals get better treatment) but most dairy cows still don’t get the opportunity to graze. The calf also must be separated from the mother within 8 hours after birth or else the mother won’t let anyone else take her milk. All of this is true for organic eggs and milk. So long as the feed is organic they can slap on the organic label. This isn’t the case with goat milk though. They’re more likely to let the goats graze and the babies can stay with their mother for longer periods of time.
      My problem is the vegans who would refuse to eat eggs that came from a happy pet chicken or duck because it’s “using” the animal or some crap like that. And they totally act all elitist about eating their over processed fake eggs and cheese >.>
      I’m pro happy animals. I’d rather pay 2x for animal products and eat them less often if I could verify that the animals had decent lives.
      This website scores organic egg and dairy farms if youre interested
      http://www.cornucopia.org/

    • 3

      Virre Vojj said,

      In addition to improperintegirl ‘s response, cows are often inseminated soon after they’ve had their calf so that they will continue to produce milk. If this wasn’t the case, they would stop lactating. And the male calves can’t become milking cows for obvious reasons, so they are instead slaugthered for their meat. So I would argue that drinking milk is worse then eating eggs on a vegetarian diet as it directly results in the killing of more animals.

      As far as the elitism goes, it’s unfortunate that it’s interpreted that way. I’m not such a person, but I know some like them and the reason they are doing it is not because they feel that they are better than you, but because they want better treatment of animals, as well as they want you to try it out and see the enviromental and health benefits. My own way is to talk about it when asked, not bring it out of thin air, as well as cooking meals for my friends to enjoy and hence letting them getting used to the idea of at least trying out a vegetarian lifestyle to see if it’s for them.
      Sharing is caring 😉

      • 4

        improperintegirl said,

        I should also add that male chicks are thrown into grinders because there’s no market for them and it’s considered the most humane way to kill them. I think they end up in pet food, but I’m not completely sure. So eating eggs kills animals as well. The best option is to have a pet chicken or duck.

  2. 5

    Scott Pool said,

    That hummus wrap made me want to eat more hummus….

    But yeah there’s something odd about a person being a vegan, eating substitute foods that try and taste like the original products and then exclaim how good it tastes. Yeah it might actually taste alright, but I don’t think they’re going to convince anyone that isn’t already a vegetarian to jump ship for their alternative XP

  3. 7

    Great post!

    I am a vegan who is NOT a fan of all of the processed vegan foods. I tend to not be a fan of mock meats because processed food is processed food regardless of whether it is vegan or not. While I do eat the occasional Daiya cheese, I try to make my daily food consumption focused on whole foods.

    • 8

      improperintegirl said,

      I feel the same way… I like to know what all of the ingredients going into my food are without having to look them up on the internet 🙂

  4. 9

    Virre Vojj said,

    Why shouldn’t we create fake meat dishes? Just because we’re vegans, we don’t necessarily enjoy only healthy food. I beg to differ that fake meats are due to lack of creativity, it’s actually quite the opposite and it’s often a huge hit with my meat eating friends.

    At times you’re in the mood for something that healthy and other times you want something slobby meat-ish. The concistency of meat or dairy is good, that’s why we create fake meat dishes. And as for the strange things that go into these dishes, it’s usually not a ton of chemical products, but rather things such as ground algae (in the case of the metlable cheese) known as agar-agar, or wheat gluten (wheat protein) in fake meat, along with soy and spices.

    Baking was the no. 1 scare for most meat eaters, but today vegans have experimented with egg replacers (not strange chemicals, but things like ground flax seeds, bananas or apples) and it’s often impossible to tell the difference between a vegan version of a pastry and the non-vegan version. This may not always be the case in whipped cream, as there are a lots of bad brands that taste way too much soy.

    Fake meats are the next step, and there have already been tons of progress with vegan fake meats that really do stand up to the “real deal”. I’ve tricked many friends with these things into believeing that I’ve went back to eating meat. The thing is that if you expect something to be vegan, you often expect it to taste bad or at least not delicious. But vegan culinary is quite delicious and offer good alternatives to meat for those passing over from a carnivour or vegetarian diet.

    Creativity creates both traditional vegan dishes and fake meats. =)

    • 10

      improperintegirl said,

      I understand your point, but I have yet to find a brand of vegetarian meat that does not have carrageenan in it. It’s a pretty bad additive made from seaweed that isn’t necessary. If you google it you’ll see that it gives a fair number of people stomach and other problems, I myself am violently allergic to it. All it does is keep mixtures separated, which makes them less dense, thus making them cheaper. It’s also in most soy milks, I’m assuming its in vegan cheeses as well. But if I were to go vegan I would try to incorporate more tempeh into my diet, it’s kind of like cheese but I wouldn’t call it fake cheese. I’d rather go for tofu and bean dishes than fake meat dishes for this reason.
      I’ve also read that in cake mixes you can replace eggs with apple sauce or banana, but I wouldn’t call that fake eggs. The fake eggs I’m talking about are the ones that come in a carton. I never expect anything vegan to taste bad, I just tend to worry about carrageenan being present in fake meat and dairy. The best place I’ve found wholesome vegan food is at Greek places, since religious Greek Orthodox people go on vegan fasts three times a year they have a good amount of options and amazing cookies.

      • 11

        Virre Vojj said,

        Oh, I have never seen carrageenan in any of the premade fake meat products that I’ve bought, but this may be because I live in Sweden and are limited to a very small variety of vegan brands. Although, I rarely buy the premade fake meats, I enjoy making them myself using tvp, seitan and/or tofu. Tempeh and tofu are really good as they are, but sometimes you just want to go that extra mile and if you’re making it yourself you don’t have to worry about the carrageenan.
        In regards to fake cheese, I’m not aware if our brands contain carragean, I never buy those since we they don’t really taste like cheese. I make “cheese sauce” instead on my own. I’m not aware were you live, but if you live in the states Daiya cheese is supposedly the best on the market (closest to the real deal) and it doesn’t seem to contain any carrageenan.
        As for soy milk, I make my own of that as well. I’m to poor to afford buying these things and I enjoy making my own food, as uch as I can.

        That’s really interesting about the Greek Orthodox, I was not aware of that but I’ll be looking into it.

        I think that it all comes down to some hardcore label reading during the transit period, and then it just becomes natural in regards to what one enjoys and can eat.

        Also, you’e completely correct in regards of the male chicks, I completely forgot about that.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

