Some Statistics

Time for another math related post because I haven’t done one in a while!

Currently I’ve been really busy working on this huge arse project for my math education class (it counts for a ton of my grade).  I’m in a group with five other people and we have to teach our class a unit on probability, and fill a 5 inch binder with lesson plans and other educational goodness. We already taught our first two lessons and have three to go.

During our first lesson we talked about new ways of visually representing data, aside from xkcd’s awesome maps of the internet (2007) and (2010) we also showed them word clouds. Word clouds are clouds of words, where the most frequently used words are the biggest and less frequently used words are smaller. You can make them at wordle.net . Here are some that I’ve made of my blog and the blogs of two of my friends.

Here are links to their blogs if you’re interested: http://kristinamirasol.net/, http://chubbyriceball.wordpress.com/

Another interesting thing that I recently rediscovered is some of the other things wolfram alpha can do besides act as a super calculator.

If you put in your gender, age and height it will tell you what you should weigh. And what your appropriate lung capacity should be and how much blood should be in you and other interesting tidbits of that source.  (I don’t know where they got 131lbs for a 5’5″ woman though. I had been told that healthy weight was 100 lbs for the first 5 feet and 5 more pounds for each additional inch, give or take 5 pounds, was a healthy weight from my cousin who is a nutritionist. That would make a healthy weight be between 120 and 130 pounds.  I don’t think I’ll ever weigh 130 pounds. I’ll be lucky if I can get back up to 117.)

It will also tell you how many days and weeks you’ve been alive if you put your birthday in it. It’s also a dictionary! And for those of you that didn’t grip the meaning of “super calculator,” it will do integrals for you *and* show you the steps! It will factor huge expressions and expand them among so many other awesome things!

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Scott Pool said,

    Haha the wolfram alpha thing is cool, I’m exactly 140 so I guess I should just keep doing what I’m doing.

    I believe you can get up to 120..I think it’s just how you also are trying to eat less meat and stay away from more fatty stuff in general. Greens and fruit will hardly put any calories on you 😛

    • 2

      improperintegirl said,

      But if I eat too many bad things I’ll get another Crohn’s flare and lose all the weight I gained. I need to gain weight by eating healthy!!!

  2. 3

    G’luck on your math education classes 🙂 i’m actually considering a minor in sci education. thats an awesome visual aid btw. wow i ever realized how much i concentrate my thoughts on time 😄

    • 4

      improperintegirl said,

      if you get certified to teach science, you’ll have an easy time getting a job. but i’d only say do it if you’re very passionate about learning. if you like trying to explain one thing in as many different ways you can think of, or if you like trying to take two totally unrelated things and seeing how you can use one to understand the other. i actually met a science teacher who went to med school but couldn’t find a residency so he decided to teach and found that that was his calling.
      the sucky thing about education classes is more than half of the time they’re stupid or common sense stuff and you have to write papers. they’re super easy if you have a good prof or a nightmare if you have a grading nazi. but if you ever have any questions about going down that path feel free to ask me ^^


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

