Another Trip To A Closing Blockbuster

As I had mentioned in a previous post, all of my local Blockbuster’s are closing. Today I went with Scott to one of them after I got done doing my class observations.It was pretty sad to see how empty this one was. Most of the movies they had left were crap, but I found a few good things.

The Rocker – I caught bits and pieces of this movie on cable. It stars the guy who plays Dwight on the office. The parts I saw were pretty funny, or at least funny enough for me to feel that this film was worth they $3 they were charging for it.

Vampires Suck – I never got a chance to see this. Being a spoof film, I know it has a 50% chance of sucking, but $3 is cheaper than a bootleg. So I went for it.

Team Jacob Candy Hearts or crap of the like – originally these were $2. I got them for 70 cents. This was the only kind of candy they had left. I think that these will be fun to throw at people. The descriptions on the box are full of lulz, and if they end up tasting good it’s only a plus.

B-list movie backers – You know those paper things with pictures of the movie’s box art? They were 5 cents each. Scott got a bunch of ones for B-list movies that looked ridiculous and I got a few that had Michael Cera on them for my sister and her friend (her friend is into Cera)

I spent roughly $7.50 on the whole deal.. and as happy as I am that I got this stuff cheap, I’m still pretty sad to see all these Blockbusters closing 😦

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Anny said,

    Do you know how long it took for your Blockbuster to get to $3? Mine has been $4.99 since last Sunday and pickings are getting slim!

    • 2

      improperintegirl said,

      All of mine closed this past Sunday. They were only $3 for the last 4 days or so. They were $5 for a while and when they first announced they were closing they were $10 each. Yours will probably get to $3 the last week that they’re open, they should have a countdown in the windows.

  2. 3

    I am so sad to see the blockbusters closing and video rentals in general 😦 I suppose everyone is going with the online route, via Netflicks these days. Sadness.

    • 4

      improperintegirl said,

      I know, I have so many childhood memories of video rental stores. However, I feel like Blockbuster died long before Netflix.. they used to give out snack packs or popcorn every so often. I even remember getting trick-or-treat buckets from them with safety info as a kid. Those days are long gone.
      At least now we also have Redbox and Blockbuster kiosks as another option, but kiosks don’t also sell Jiffy Pop 😦


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

