NYC Vegetarian Food Festival!

Today Scott and I went to the NYC Vegetarian Food Festival in Chelsea. I’m not a vegan or a vegetarian but I wanted to go because admission was free and I was curious about what they would have.While waiting online to get in I started to worry about what I was getting myself into after seeing a bunch of hipsters and parents who had dressed their kids up in shirts promoting being vegan and not wearing fur. But after I went inside I felt totally fine.There were representatives from vegan and vegetarian companies and restaurants, meditation groups and animal rescue organizations. There were also lots of free samples!

One of the first things I tried was some raw vegan icecream from Raw IceCream Company.

No carrageenan! Hooray!

I tried their mint chocolate chip flavor. It tasted a bit more like cookie dough than ice cream. Then Scott and I bought a scoop if their chocolate ice cream for a dollar. It was pretty good and didn’t melt as fast as regular ice cream, though it did have a bit of a taste, but it wasn’t a bad taste at all. Two other vegan icecreams that I was able to try were Coconut Bliss and Organic Nectar’s Cashewtopia. Both were really good, but out of the three Coconut Bliss was my favorite! It had somewhat of a grainy texture, but tasted wonderful.

I got the chance to try some vegan sushi courtesy of Beyond Sushi by Espirit Events.

 

vegan sushi!

In all honesty, this was way better than I expected it to be. I was thrilled that they had some that were rolled in soy paper instead of seaweed because I’m allergic to seaweed. It was the best piece of sushi that I ever had in my life, and I’m not exaggerating. The piece I tied had brown rice instead of white rice, and I was surprised at how good it was… normally I can’t stand brown rice.  I’m definitely planning on going to one of Beyond Sushi’s locations as soon as I find one.

 

Then there were vegan marshmallows and baked goods, but most of them had carrageenan so I didn’t try them. But they were cute so I took pictures.

Two other interesting things I got a chance to try were raw chocolate and kombuncha (fermented carbonated tea). I had tried kombuncha in the past and thought it tasted awful. Today I gave it another go and both brands that I tried Bao and Kombuncha Brooklyn tasted great! They had nice flavors with a little bitterness as opposed to the pure bitterness my first experience with kombuncha had.  Raw chocolate was something new and interesting. It’s considered raw because they don’t roast the beans over a certain temperature, giving it a taste much closer to that of the original cocoa bean. It has a somewhat fruity taste to it. I tried raw chocolate from a few places but Gnosis was the only place that I got a card from. I would’ve bough some, but most of these places were charging at least $5 for a bar. As far as non-raw chocolates go, Rescue Chocolate was giving out samples. They donate 100% of their profits to a different animal rescue each month. For April they’re donating their profits to a rabbit rescue.

There are many more things I could write about, but now I’m just going to say what I bought. A lot of things there were pricey, but I managed to find these reasonably priced items.

Wholesome Creations Green Tea/Ginger dressing: I sampled a few of their dressings and this one was pretty good. It was only $3 for a 10oz glass bottle so I went for it.

Peeled Organic – much-ado-about-mango and paradise found: It’s some dried fruit. The samples were delicious. The first one is just dried mango and the second is a mix of dried mango, pineapple and banana. Normally I detest bananas but I found that they didn’t taste so bad in dried form. It was $5 for the two bags.

Nutivia – Hemp Chocolate Organic Bar: I couldn’t resist. Alright, I probably could resist but it was only $1. Plus I can have fun sharing it with John and Peter during free hour this week.

Overall, we had an awesome time. But we ended our time in the city completely non-vegan. On the way to the train we saw this:

 

that's right, $1 a slice

If that’s what these guys charge for pizza, they truly are bros! You could get two slices and a can of soda for $2.75 or get one pepperoni or mushroom slice for $1.50.

I would say that’s all, but the best thing to happen today was hearing Scott say, “I wouldn’t mind being a vegetarian in the future,” and then seeing him bullshit his response, then eventually say yes, when I asked if he said that because in the past he though all vegetarian food tasted bad or was extremely boring. I don’t think I’ll ever go vegetarian, but when I’m living on my own I want to not eat meat frequently. The meat that I will eat will come from animals that had happy lives and weren’t confined to small pens. I’d like my eggs and dairy to come from kind sources as well. Anyway, that’s all for now!

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Scott Pool said,

    Yeah they had surprisingly good food there. When I think vegetarian I think just…vegetables basically even though I know there’s a lot more to it than that, usually my mind doesn’t wander to stuff like organic cupcakes, icecream, chocolate, and sushi at the least! The only bar I would have is makin sure to have enough money to support that lifestyle, since more organic foods and vegetables in general cost more than what you would have to spend on meat

    • 2

      improperintegirl said,

      If you get non-organic vegetables it’s cheaper.. and organic veggies are cheaper than organic meat. It’s about having shopping skills and knowing what size portions to cook.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

