Spring!

7:21 pm has past and it’s officially spring! Luckily this year the equinox occurred at a time I’m normally awake at, so I stood up some eggs!

My mom always told us you could do this during the spring equinox because something happens with gravity. For some reason this was the year I finally decided to research the topic. Every website I cam across said that this phenomenon is a myth and that if you are patient enough you can stand up eggs any day of the year. It didn’t take much effort to stand up these eggs. And I remember one year when the equinox was early in the morning I stood some up with my sister outside. It was very easy for a few minutes to stand most of the eggs up, but within a few minutes we couldn’t stand up the eggs anymore and a few fell over. So I guess this will forever remain a mystery, but at least it’s a fun mystery 😀

In other news, here’s an awesome interactive diagram I made to demonstrate Bhaskara’s First Proof of the Pythagorean Theorem.

note the squares of the sides

lift the flaps to see that the square of the hypotenuse can be rearranged into the sum of the squares of the legs!

It’s for the education class I’m taking that’s focused on incorporating ESL teaching methods into mainstream subject classes. Every so often I’ll learn something interesting, but for the most part it’s really boring.

Happy Spring!!!!!!!!

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    whee! i got your text about the egg thing, and i couldn’t help but laugh 🙂 those are amazing math diagram interactives, i’m sure the kids will like them. very colorful, too!

    • 2

      improperintegirl said,

      that diagram isn’t for the kids, it’s for a lesson plan that I have to turn in to my professor, but I do plan on making bigger ones to use if I’m in a situation where I’m teaching the Pythagorean Theorem =D


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

