The Worst Crohn’s Flare Up OF MY LIFE

I needed to wait until I had recovered a fair bit before writing this. If medical things bother you I suggest that you don’t read this post or look at any of the pictures.

For those of you that don’t know, I was diagnosed with Crohn’s disease in July of 2009. Though I think it may have first started when I was in middle school, bad symptoms didn’t start until my junior year of high school.First I though I had IBS, I had eliminated the following foods from my diet: carrageenan (which brought on the worst symptoms), insoluble fiber, greasy fried things, and things with too much sugar, but I was still having stomach pains.

Since being diagnosed I was put on medication and am feeling much better. I even gained some weight back. (Originally I was 117 lbs and had some muscle, at my worst I was 102, I had gotten up to 108). But I still have flares occasionally, normally around finals and midterms due to stress. For me a normal flare up would consist of having diarrhea for a few days and possibly a fever. My doctor has put me on antibiotics twice for them because sometimes bacteria is involved.

Last week was pretty stressful. Friday I had diarrhea in the morning, I took imodium and went on with my life. The next day I had diarrhea again, again I took imodium.. but this time I had really horrible stomach pains *all day,* and I’m talking about gas pain… which is really bad. This was not normal Crohn’s pain. I also had a fever. I couldn’t do homework because I got chills sitting at the table. I found myself asking God why he gave me this disease, or better yet asking my soul why it chose to live my life with this disease. I know everything happens for a reason, but I couldn’t figure out what more my soul could learn from the experience.

Sunday was the same thing only worse. Monday was the same thing. I cut class. Tuesday I was slightly better and cut class again. I got into see my GI finally. He said that I probably caught a virus of sorts or have some kind of infection which is being made worse because I have Crohn’s.

He put me on the same medication my dog gets when she has diarrhea. (Zelda most likely has ulcerative colitis, she is my IBD buddy). I also found out if I take the med with alcohol my face will flush red and I will vomit profusely. Good thing I don’t drink 😀

I just started taking it today, but I was already feeling a bit better on Wednesday. Hopefully I’ll be back to normal soon.Then I can return (although set back a bit) to my mission of getting back up to 117lbs. I’m 104 lbs now because of this stupid ordeal.

Now for the pictures I promised. I feel like posting pictures of my colon because my past few blogs had no pictures. And those of you studying bio-related things should find these pictures interesting and informative.

This one looks like an angry face XD

That’s all for now! I’ll be back in the future with some math related goodness and a concert review 😀

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Haha, when you mentioned that the last photo looked like an angry face, I was immediately able to see it. XD I hope you’re recovering quickly! I could never imagine what that’s like. Did your doctor recommend anything else to do at home besides the medication?

    • 2

      improperintegirl said,

      Thanks ^^ I’m doing a lot better now. I’m still not perfect but the really bad pains I never had before are gone =D

      Basically my doctor has said to try and avoid foods that I know are trigger foods and to avoid stress.. as he once told me, “as someone who’s had a lot of academic stress in my life, don’t let it get to you”
      If only it was easier XD
      I’ve told him about the probiotics and supplements that I’m on, he says studies have shown that they help some people but don’t help others. But it’s not like they can hurt me. I also think they help.. sometime I notice things change if I haven’t been taking my glutamine supplements. I can also become an irrational bitch if I haven’t been getting enough B12.
      He’s also told me getting exercise can help. I think this last episode is finally going to prompt my dad to pay for me to go to the gym with him XD


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

