Pokemon Snap Stations, Where Have You Gone?

All of my local Blockbusters closing down caused me to remember something about my childhood. It made me remember the days the Blockbuster of my childhood had a Pokemon Snap Station.

Remeber these?

I remember begging my parents to take me to Blockbuster so I could use it. If you had a copy of Pokemon Snap, you could bring it in and use the kiosk to make sticker pictures of the photos you had saved in the game. And if you didn’t own a copy you could play through the first level and print pictures you had just taken. To print the pictures you needed a pokemon card.

There were several others with different pokemon on them. I remember having all of them but one. I also remember the people that worked at Blockbuster had no idea who any of the pokemon were. They’d show all of them to you and let you pick which one you wanted. The internet claims they cost $3 each, which sounds about right.

Another thing I remember having was the strategy guide.What I liked most about this was the section it had in the back to keep all of your stickers. They actually had spaces for all 151 pokemon.

I remember my Blockbuster had the Snap Station for one or two years and then it just disappeared. I was pretty disappointed. I assumed they trashed it or an employee got it.

So I went online and looked them up. It turns out only 4,500 were ever made. The promotion started in 1999 and ended in 2000 or early 2001. They’re very rare these days but if you’re lucky you can find one at a flee market or online somewhere.

I’d really like to use one again. But I feel that if I ever got my hands on one and bought it, it’d be extremely selfish to keep it to myself. This is something that every old pokemon fan deserves to experience again. If I ever manage to get one, I’d call Nintendo World and offer to sell or donate it to them on the condition that they kept it in the museum section of the store and allowed people to use it to print stickers. They would be the ones most likely to be able to get more sticker paper made after all. I doubt they’d go for making the cards again but it’d be worth it to get another sheet of stickers.

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    I remember those, too! Last year, my friend brought over his N64 to my boyfriend’s suite and we bought a Pokemon Snap cartridge at GameStop for like $5 and took turns playing. Unfortunately, it only took one or two days to beat. It is a kid’s game, though, so it’s understandable. 😛

    • 2

      improperintegirl said,

      I didn’t even know GameStop was still selling N64 games last year. I could easily beat it now.. but when I was 10 I remember having so much trouble on one level.. and then going nuts trying to get a good picture of Mew.. I don’t think I ever got one XD

  2. 3

    Jenna said,

    I have one of these in my basement but never new they were that rare!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

