My Early Valentine’s Day

Since Valentine’s Day is on a Monday this year, (and I have a horrible schedule on Mondays) Scott and I decided to go out for Valentine’s Day this Saturday. I honestly thought we were just going to end up going out on a “normal” date but then Scott surprised me when he found out about Simply Fondue in the Atlas Park shopping center in Glendale. It was really nice inside, but still casual dress which was nice. Also, with it being a fondue place, each table has its own hot plate on it for keeping your fondue pot hot.

They had a Valentine’s special, I was kind of iffy because of the price, but Scott had planned on it, so we went with it.  It came with salads, a shared cheese fondue, entrees, a shared chocolate fondue for dessert, unlimited soda, a $20 gift certificate, a picture of us and a rose for me ^^

I had a Caesar salad (no photo taken). It was lacking croutons, but the amazing dressing and cheese made up for it. Scott had a Strawberry Spinach salad (also no photo taken) which tasted way better than I expected it too. Ironically there weren’t many strawberries in it, but the strawberry vinaigrette and almonds almost made up for it.

Next we had our choice of cheese fondue and we went with what sounded like the tastiest option. We had a fontina cheese fondue with added tomato, pesto and garlic. They gave us mixed vaggies and bread to dip into it. It was *really* good and very filling.

After that the waiter informed us that we would get to cook our own entrees on a grill or in canola oil. He told us the oil was the easiest and tastiest way to go, so that way we went! After our oil heat up enough we had fun frying all of our bite sized pieces of meat and fish in it. We also received an assortment of sauces. The scallops were the tastiest in my opinion.. they didn’t need sauce! They were their own wonderful flavor! However, we couldn’t stomach a ton because the cheese fondue we just had was way too filling. When we got full we asked the waiter for a doggy bag, then we fried up everything else on the plate and into the bag it went!

Next we moved on to our dessert choice. We decided to go with a raspberry chocolate fondue. It was alright, I kind of wished we would have went with the reese’s peanut-butter/chocolate fondue but I think I was way too full at this point to have totally enjoyed anything.We got fruit, cookies, pretzels, brownies and pound cake bits to dip in it. I ended up taking a few of those home because we couldn’t finish.

In the end, our waiter was awesome and this place was totally awesome, but it was more expensive than Scott led me to believe >.>I think he has a secret goal of surpassing every previous Valentine’s day we had. It’s really nice considering we’ve been together for about 4 years now, and I think he knows he doesn’t need to go all out for me.. but he still wants to ^^

We’ll probably go back because of the gift certificate (excellent business scheme) but we’ll probably only get cheese fondue because how wonderfully filling it is! I think the best option would be to go here with a group of four people and split a few things. That way things are cheaper for everyone, and you get to try more.

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    I really love the concept of this restaurant. I looked at the website, and the prices don’t seem so bad as long as you go with a larger party. I’m glad you guys had fun! 😀

  2. 3

    Scott Pool said,

    Yeah I am happy I decided to go with this place, and no matter how full I got I forced myself to keep eating out of wanting to get 100% money’s worth XD. Of course seeing Kirsten happy with the dinner and an enjoyable day already makes it worth it, def going back with a bigger group sometime!

  3. 5

    Ho ho ho. That looks delish. There is a fondue place near here called the Melting Pot, but it’s way too expensive 😄

    Sounds like you guys had a great date 😉 Happy Valentines Day!!! 😀

    • 6

      improperintegirl said,

      Glad to hear your Valentine’s day had some fun in it as well ^^
      I want to say we should get fondue when you come back here.. but Luke’s is too tempting.. then again it would be your call =D


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

