Two Things I Hate About Science

I never intended to take my blog in this direction, but after more and more news stories on these “miracles” and “personal decisions,” (and my parents hating my ranting) I decided to post something here. Ok, in reality is was this one news story I heard today that broke the camel’s back… but more on that later.

If at any point this offends you, I’m sorry you got offended but I’m not sorry for offending you. I’m not forcing you to read this.

I love science and many things about it, but it has allowed things to happen that I don’t agree with. So here are  two things I hate that science has allowed to happen:

1. Cosmetic Plastic Surgery – This is plastic surgery for people who were born looking normal and are unhappy with how they look, or for people who haven’t really tried to loose weight the normal way. This is not plastic surgery for people who were born deformed, or got into some terrible accident, or were burn victims or people who can’t loose weight because they have things like poly csystic ovarian syndrome.

2. Unnatural Pregnancies – This is when anyone who cannot naturally have a baby for any reason decides to pay for a test tube baby, a surrogate mother, sperm donations, egg donations and all of that other bullshit.

Why I Hate Plastic Surgery

On all of these women’s talk shows, they’re always talking about plastic surgery. They always say stuff like “it’s a personal decision,” “it’s your appearance if you really want to change it to make yourself feel better you can.” Money is the solution, but not really. The reason people want these surgeries to begin with is because they are unhappy with their appearances, and that comes from within. Changing your outsides won’t fix your insides. On the Tyra show there have been women who have had one surgery, and were unhappy with the result, or still had more things that they wanted to fix. I personally believe that if you don’t like what you see in the mirror now, you never will. One thing I’ve noticed is that the more you get to know people and see them as good or bad people, in your eyes they become more beautiful or ugly. I think this also applies to the individual; you’ll be happier with your appearance if you like yourself for who you are.

Bottom Line: I hate the media and society and how they condone changing your appearance in place of learning to like yourself.

Why I Hate Unnatural Pregnancies

There are 210 million orphans world wide.

When one person or a couple that wants to have children is sterile or can’t have a child naturally, I see it as God’s way of telling them to adopt one of those 210 million orphaned children. More if they were planning on having more than one child. Do people do this? No. Why? Because they can go to a doctor and pay for in vitro or a surrogate mother, all because they *have* to have a baby with their genes, or because the mother wants to give birth *that* badly.

This morning there was a story on the news. It was about a woman who’s two adult children were diagnosed with cystic fibrosis before she was diagnosed with breast cancer. She died in 2007, but was glad to see her son get married before she died and always wanted grandchildren. Cystic fibrosis makes men sterile. The news then called it a “miracle” that doctors were able to help them have a child. That is not a miracle. That is paying doctors a shit load of money for your own selfish desires. Not to mention the dude had the cystic fibrosis gene, which he is inevitably passing on to his child. In addition, most people with cystic fibrosis don’t live a very long time. When he passes away this child will be left with one parent. None of this sounds very responsible to me.

I also read another story a number of months ago. A woman in her early 30’s was diagnosed with some crazy form of breast cancer. She wanted to have a baby. Her and her husband had a baby through a surrogate. She passed away two weeks after the baby was born. They knew she wouldn’t make it. This is irresponsible. You are once again, possibly giving the child bad genes and leaving the child with one parent.

People in any of these situations who choose to give doctors shit loads of money instead of adopting are selfish. My cousin and his wife did something with fertility drugs, wound up with triplets. I love them and my second cousins, but I wouldn’t mind if they had adopted. I have every right to call these people selfish because I’m related to some of those people.

Here are some numbers. It turns out in some cases adopting, even from another country can be cheaper than a surrogate or in vitro.

Surrogacy costs: tens of thousands of dollars (it varies depending on the situation) surrogate mothers can charge a $25,000 fee. This doesn’t even include the medical procedures and her doctor visits.

Test tube baby costs: $7000-$10000

Adoption costs: $0 – $40000+ (the link offers further break downs of different adoption scenarios) depending on how you adopt the money can fuel corruption, so research is important. (FYI: My neighbor’s did research and found Ecuador was the least corrupt in South America, they adopted a little boy from a convent there a number of years ago)

Even though adoption can be cheaper and is better for your soul, people still give doctors shitloads of money. I would assume one major reason is because the waiting list for white American babies is very long, and white Russian babies have mental problems because the orphanages there are horrible. Sadly racial barriers still exist in society. I would have no problem adopting a black kid. However, I’d feel bad if that kid got made fun of, or felt that it was denied black parents.. or something of the like. I also wouldn’t want people to think I was trying to be like Angelina Jolee or making a fashion statement -_-. I guess that’s why seeing white people with Asian kids girls is more common.  However, Indians are Caucasian and many South Americans have strong Caucasian traits. I think it’s really sad that people who want “white” babies can’t even take small steps like that.  The real answer to this problem is birth control education and the empowerment in women in third world countries, but that doesn’t mean we shouldn’t adopt.

Bottom line: If you cannot conceive a baby naturally, God is telling you to spend that money (or lack thereof) adopting a child, not giving it all to doctors.

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Scott Pool said,

    I agree about the plastic surgery, and people get it for such minor “imperfections” that they see in themselves too. People are not perfect and never will be, everyone has SOMETHING wrong with them whether mentally or biologically, it’s just part of being human.

    I also agree somewhat with the people who have a kid before they die, but won’t even live to see them grow up if they know they’ll die. The kid is left with one parent, and the possibility of the kid also growing up and eventually getting the disease that killed them. Although I can see the reason why someone would want to do that, it’s like leaving a piece of them behind and the husband/wife might want to cherish that. Some people also just want their own kid, they want their own blood and I don’t think there’s anything wrong with wanting that.

    Telling someone that they’re selfish for spending lots of money to have a kid is like telling someone they’re selfish for eating at expensive places and not using that money to feed starving kids. Every little bit does help, but it’s a task that shouldn’t rest on one person. If someone personally told me if I wanted to spend all this money on technology and computers and that it was selfish, I would tell them it’s my life and maybe they should stop focusing on what others are doing and focus more on what they’re doing

    • 2

      improperintegirl said,

      This is different. They money they are spending affects a life outside of their own. They’re spending all this money to have their own kid when for the same price they could give another child a chance at life.

      It’s also not the best way to leave a piece of you behind. All the child has is your genes. A better way to leave a piece of yourself behind is to found a charity, start a movement or write a book that will inspire others to do as you did. That’s the only true way a part of you can stay here (aside from being in memories).

  2. 3

    I agree with your view on cosmetic plastic surgery. There are actually people out there with conditions that need it in order to function normally in society. But people who don’t know what else to do with their money use it on their minor imperfections. There was a point when I was considering rhinoplasty (for like, two days) because I hated my nose, but I’ve grown to accept it. Besides, I’ve read tons of personal experiences by women who have become addicted to it – it just goes to show how far someone will go with their insecurities.

    • 4

      improperintegirl said,

      Tyra has had a ton of women who have gotten addicted to it. Some did it without anesthesia to save money.. so they could get more done. Others did it to themselves, or paid a quack and almost died because of it. But the saddest thing to me is how much these people base their self worth on their appearance 😦

  3. 5

    I agree with the plastic surgery bit. Those who need it for extreme reasons like skin graphing because of severe burns or to fix structures that impair breathing and to function in normal society, I feel like those are the patients who are in need. Not because someone isn’t happy with their lack of butt or some ridiculousness like that. I think lose lots of talented doctors to the money in what I think is superficial plastic surgery.

    As for the Unnatural Pregnancy thing, I actually haven’t formed a solid stance on it (though I thoroughly appreciate your view on it). That cystic fibrosis one is really an unfortunate story though. I do like the alternate solution you suggested of adopting children 🙂 There are tons of kids who would love a loving home. The application process is pretty grueling I would imagine though to screen for horrible people.

    All in all, I would like a tally of things I disagree with in science soon >:D


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

