My Very Belated Pumpkin

I can’t believe I forgot to post this. Actually, I can, the first two weeks of November have been pretty damn heavy.But anyway…

I was planning on taking pictures of my pumpkin in various stages as I carved it but I got really into it and only ended up with two.

Before:

After:

At Night:

Basically what I did with this pumpkin was…

1. Chose to do a Spidey related pumpkin.

2. Look at other Spider-pumpkins online and come up with the idea to do mine this way. I saw someone do a bust of the classic 60’s Spidey and another person do a pumpkin head (like what i have) of the Spidey from the most recent films.

3. Made stencils for the eyes as they are a major factor in recognition.

4. Made a poked outline of the eyes, then worked the rest of the pumpkin free hand (while glancing back and forth at my sketch of his webbing patterns) around the eyes.

I’m also adding that the candle in the pumpkin stayed lit for five days. We used a big scented candle from Michaels, but still, it was subject to a lot of wind and even rain. I consider this The Miracle of Halloween, much like Hanukkah. Ironically stricter Jews don’t celebrate Halloween, but do celebrate Purim, which is a lot like Halloween. It’s in the spring and you go around giving out treats instead of begging for them. I wish both were universally celebrated… who doesn’t want a second Halloween in the spring?!

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    I’ve never made a jack-o-lantern before! 😮 And yours is great. I can imagine myself ruining three pumpkins before actually finishing something decent. XD I celebrated Purim with my Jewish friend last year! We dressed up in costumes, ate a lot of food, and drank a lot of beer. Very non-traditional. XD

    • 2

      improperintegirl said,

      I’m warning you, carving curves is a lot harder than carving straight lines.. and shaving the pumpkin takes a lot of muscle. I think I’ll do an integral next year..

  2. 4

    I am so jeally. This is amazing! I’ve only made a typical dinky Jack o latern cutout design, but tots inspired to maybe do a double helix next year 🙂 YAY SPIDEY!

    • 5

      improperintegirl said,

      it’d be difficult to do a long double helix.. my plan would be to carve the empty space out of the middle and carve out an outline.. but you could also probably shave a double helix.. and carve out certain parts of the bonds to make them look different. might i suggest trying a neuron if the helix gets a bit too insane? the tree-brancy like ends would be the hardest part there 🙂


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

